The rabbinical ordination (semicha) to Clary Rooda in the synagogue of LJG The Hague, 18 May 2014 – 18 Iyar 5774 (Lag BaOmer).


Members of the Academic Committee and Exam committee, rabbis, rabbi Y. Mazor from Israel, with Clary Rooda just before the ordination. 

Do you want to look at this photo in detail? Click here.

See for the videos and speeches (in Dutch):

Entrance rabbis and Academic Committee
Welcome by prof. Ted Young
Welcome by rabbi Menno ten Brink
Mincha service part 1
Semicha ordination
Speeches by Ron van der Wieken and Miriam Kramer (in English)

To the photo album

Thanks to photographer Michael Ballak and filmer Michel Kaplan.



Semicha Ira Goldberg 2012

Het verlenen van de rabbinale bevoegdheid aan Ira Goldberg en zijn installatie als tweede rabbijn van LJG Amsterdam, 2 september 2012 – 15 elloel 5772.










Members of the Academic Committee and Exam Committee
, rabbis, rabbi Yehoram Mazor and chazzan prof. Eli Schleifer, with Ira Goldberg before the ordination.

To the  photo album

To the video (100 minuten)

Thanks to the photographers:
Michael Ballak (nrs Z3A…)
Renée Kater (nrs DSC…)
and Pim Verdonk for the video.



Semicha first Levisson rabbis 2008

The rabbinical ordination (semicha) to the first rabbinical students of the Levisson Institute, The Hague, 27 August 2008 – 26 Menachem-av 5768.

089 Groepsfoto AC gasten semichanten

The Academic Committee and visiting leaders of other rabbinical seminars with the rabbinical students before the ordination.

To the photo album, click here
Thanks to photographer Ido Menco.

To all other documents:
The programme booklet (without cover).
The semicha certificate for a man, for a woman.

Conductor choir: Marcela Obermeister
The members of the choir are students in the cantor training of the Institute.

Click on the photo to see the video. See also instructions below.

Order of the service (with time display in the video)

0     Entrance with Psalm 118:26-29: Baruch Haba
3     Welcome special guests, prof. Ted Young
9     Welcome, Henk Wagenfeld, chair Foundation R.A. Levisson
11    Welcome, Willem Koster, chair Dutch Union for Progressive Judaism
18    Welcome, prof. Irene Zwiep, chair Academic Committee
22    Welcome, Lex Levisson, son of Robert A. Levisson
23    Mincha service by rabbi Menno ten Brink and chazzan prof. Eli Schleifer
52     Music: Mia Dreese (flute), Romance by Joachim Stutschewsky
56     Intro to the ordination: dean rabbi David Lilienthal
1.05   Semicha: rabbi Navah-Tehila Shmuelit-Livingstone
1.07   Semicha: rabbi Tamarah Benima
1.08   Semicha: rabbi Albert Ringer
1.10   Semicha: rabbi Marianne van Praag
1.12   Semicha: rabbi Kineret Sittig
1.13   Derasja: rabbijn Navah-Tehila Shmuelit-Livingstone
1.17   Derasha: rabbi Tamarah Benima
1.24  Derasha: rabbi Albert Ringer
1.29  Derasha: rabbi Marianne van Praag
1.33  Derasha: rabbi Kineret Sittig
1.40  Congratualtion by rabbi David Ellenson, President Hebrew Union College, Cincinnati, brought by rabbi Yehoram Mazor, followed by a special prayer for the new rabbis.
1.44  Odecha (Psalm 118:21-24, Amsterdam Portuguese melody)
1.48  Congratualtion, rabbi prof. Marc Saperstein, Principal Leo Baeck College, London
1.52  Congratualtion, rabbi Peter Knobel, President Central Conference of American Rabbis
1.55  Congratualtion, Leslie Bergman, member Board World Union for Progressive Judaism and Rabbinic Review Committee
2.00  Psalm 98: Shiru Ladonai shir chadash
2.04  Final word, rabbi Awraham Soetendorp
2.10  End mincha service by rabbi Reuven Bar-Efraïm and chazzan prof. Eli Schleifer
2.17  Departure with Psalm 150